Call for tenders' details

Provision of SATCOM services for RPAS
Contracting authority:
European Maritime Safety Agency
TED publication date:
Time limit for receipt of tenders:
English (en)
Question details
RPAS Terminals and Aircraft
Dear Sir/Madam, With regard tot he terminals that will need to go onto the 2 different types of RPAS. 1.Is it possible to get the details of these aircraft and their weight class? 2. If they are classed as Air Certified aircraft who will be responsible for the STC of the equipment on the aircraft?
1. The details of the first type of RPAS are: TAKE-OFF WEIGHT / MASS UP TO 150 KG (MAXIMUM) ENDURANCE > 10 HOURS RANGE UP TO 800 KM ALTITUDE UP TO 10,000 FEET COMMUNICATION RLOS / BRLOS (SATCOM) MAX PAYLOAD WEIGHT UP TO 50 KG The details of the second type of RPAS are: WING SPAN/ ROTOR DIAMETER UP TO 6.5 M(APPROXIMATELY) TAKE-OFF WEIGHT / MASS LARGE SIZE ENDURANCE > 12 HOURS RANGE UP TO 800 KM ALTITUDE UP TO 17,000 FEET COMMUNICATION RLOS / BRLOS (SATCOM) MAX PAYLOAD WEIGHT UP TO 150 KG This type of RPAS is also described in the call for tender EMSA/OP/1/2018 for Contract for long endurance and long range RPAS ( For both types of RPAS, the SATCOM terminal requirements in terms of weight and size can be found in point 2.4 of Appendix 1 Technical Specifications. 2. The need of classing the aircraft as Air Certified is driven by the type of RPAS and the regulation of the Member State or National Authority requesting the RPAS services. In most of the cases, a permit to fly is sufficient. However, some Member States might require an Air Certified aircraft. For aircrafts with a weight>150kg, EASA is the responsible entity for granting the certification, and for aircrafts<150kg is the National Aviation Authority of the country where the aircraft will fly. The manufacturer of the RPAS aircraft will be responsible for the request of any STC of the overall system.